More Classroom Interactions

Wow! It’s Monday April 14, 2014, and we have less than three weeks to go to end the winter semester. As I sit in my office and begin this blog, I have so many topics I can think about blogging on, but I will go with my gut and blog on my classroom visits and student interactions this morning. After all, it is all about the students.

I canceled a trip to Lansing today because I felt it was more important for me to be on campus interacting with our students. I began the morning before 9:00 a.m. by visiting our C Building and dropping in on several classes. I would like to highlight my visits to two classes in particular, Introduction to Social Science taught by Nicole Little and Speech Fundamentals, taught by Mark Bergmooser.

When I peeked in Prof. Nicole Little’s class, she invited me in (by the way, instructors are not obligated to invite me in). I went in, sat down, and listened for a few minutes just before she began a group exercise on Social Structure and Mate Selection. The topic was so intriguing and the students so involved that I turned myself into a “guest lecturer,” asking questions of the students and soliciting responses. Indeed, our students learn better, when they have the opportunity to express themselves.

I then journeyed down the hall to Prof Mark Bergmooser’s speech class. There were three very well organized group presentations on stereotyping, language, and appearance. The students used You Tube videos and group exercises to support and buttress their presentations. Of course, as always, I had something to add.

As I make my rounds on campus, I continue to be impressed by what hear and see. Our students are, for the most part, hardworking and dedicated individuals, and so are our faculty. Faculty and students, please keep up the good work. Faculty, if you see me lurking in the hallways and peeking in your class, do invite me in, because I will always have something motivational and inspirational (according to me) to say to our students. Hopefully, my presence adds to their learning.

Leave a Reply

