First “50s” Milestone!

Today I made my 50th classroom visit! That is the first of my “50s” completed, yes! That is especially significant because my priority is students. As a former economics professor, I cannot deny that I truly enjoy the classroom visits and student interactions, so I will keep going. Truth be told, had it not been for the terrible weather that we have experienced this winter, I would have reached that goal weeks ago. My 50th class was Prof. Joanna Sabo’s International Relations class where I listened to students debating “isolationism versus interventionism” and “foreign aid versus no foreign aid.” As always, I was impressed by our students and I learned something. Thank you, faculty for allowing me into your classrooms.

There are many other “50s” to achieve and a long way to go, but we will get there. Here is some indication of where we are with a few of our “50s,” in order of progress made:

  •          34 Community Interactions  (separate from speaking engagements and volunteer activities)
  •          29 high school classroom visits
  •          27 or so media appearances (includes repeats of  “Educations Matters” TV show)
  •          20 or so blogs
  •          20 meetings with part-time employees
  •          15 external contacts
  •          12 speaking engagements
  •          12 volunteer activities
  •          9 responses to my blog (not good)
  •          3 corporate visits (I have a long way to go, but we will get there)

There are some other “50s” not reflected above, but the bottom line is we are making progress. I still need to find 50 campus champions, 50 community champions, 50 alumni friends, 50 donors and 50 new brain cells (I know, that will not be enough).

Please continue to support and sign up as a campus champion. I look forward to working with you as we continue to progress toward our 50-50-50 …for the 50th by June 30,2014.

 

2 thoughts on “First “50s” Milestone!

  1. I wanted to take a moment to commend you on your 50-50-50 initiative. I truly enjoyed chatting with you at the Phi Theta Kappa inductions regarding some of your visits and plans. With your vision and direction, I see great things in the future for MCCC and Monroe County.

    • Lisa,

      Thanks so much for your confidence in me. Together, we are going to make MCCC and the community a great place.

Leave a Reply

