Ted Toles, Jr. to Speak on Campus Tomorrow for Black History Month

I enjoy reading, watching documentaries, and listening to lectures about various cultures and history. The book I am currently reading is about Native American history, Bury My Heart at Wounded Knee, by Dee Brown. The documentary I am watching (bit by bit), is The African-Americans: Many Rivers to Cross, narrated by Dr. Henry Louis Gates, Jr. I also have the book of the same title, which I will be reading soon.

Yesterday, I was given another book, Living on Borrowed Time: The Life and Times of Negro League Player Ted Toles, Jr. Ted Toles himself stopped by my office yesterday and handed me his book; I have already started reading it. Please allow me to put this in perspective for you. Ted Toles is an 89-year old who played in the Negro Leagues with Jackie Robinson and Satchell Paige before baseball was integrated in 1947. He is a living legend! Mr. Toles is one of those individuals who endured severe hardships in order for some of us to be where we are today. Mr. Toles is featured on the front page of today’s Monroe News.  Tomorrow, Saturday February 28, 2015, Mr. Toles with be our featured Black History Month speaker at 1:00 p.m. in the La-Z-Boy Center on campus.  This will be the culminating lecture for Black History Month. We hope you will come to be edified, illuminated and educated.

I end by asking, IF NOT MONROE COUNTY COMMUNITY COLLEGE, THEN WHO?

2 thoughts on “Ted Toles, Jr. to Speak on Campus Tomorrow for Black History Month

Leave a Reply

