Monday Morning Musings — Service to Others…

Until a couple of weekends ago, my weekends had been filled with millage campaigning for several months. Now that I have my weekends back, I find that they are filled with numerous community activities, so sometimes I say “Thank God it’s Monday!” (TGIM). While my community activities are all self-imposed, I cannot help it because that is my orientation.  I have so much to be thankful for that I cannot help but to continue giving my community a portion of my time, talents, and treasure.

This past Saturday, I  stood on Telegraph Road hawking Good Fellows papers as part of my duties as an Exchangite. My goal was to raise $50 in two hours; I raised over $100. Most of the funds raised will go towards student scholarships. The weekend before that, I was a bell ringer for the Salvation Army, as part of my duties as a Rotarian. There are so many opportunities to serve my community that I cannot keep up. Truth be told, I prefer this to campaigning door-to-door.

I do what I do because I strongly believe that to whom much is given, much is expected; and I have much to be thankful for. Marian Wright Edelman said, “Service to others is the rent we pay for living on this planet.” There are so many “others” who need our services, and so as we go into the Holidays, let’s remember the less fortunate and give whatever we can to support them.

Leave a Reply

