The First Day of Classes

Today is the first day of fall classes at Monroe County Community College. There are many bright-eyed and seemingly eager students all over campus who appear to be genuinely excited about being back in school after a long summer break. Well, maybe I am just speaking for myself—yes, I am eager and excited to be starting a new semester with renewed hope and enthusiasm. I certainly hope all of us are.

As I walked from building to building and class to class greeting and welcoming students today, I noticed that naturally, not all are excited to be here – there are some who are filled with a certain amount of trepidation, some filled with uncertainty (not knowing what to expect) and others are just plain scared. I understand; many of us fear the unknown, and there is nothing wrong with that. One of the reasons why I do attempt to interact with students on the first day of classes, and throughout the semester, is to ease some of those fears they may have. As I have always said, the most important job that we do at institutions such as MCCC is to motivate and inspire students to be the best that they can be. We need to inspire these students to dream big dreams, keep hope alive, and believe first and foremost in themselves. That is our ultimate mission. Please join me with renewed vigor and enthusiasm as we attempt to enrich and transform the lives of our students.

Leave a Reply

